Texting and driving is a problem in Massachusetts, and even those who don’t text and drive might not be able to prevent an accident when another driver is being reckless. However, in Massachusetts residents can hold a driver responsible when injured because of texting and driving.
Texting and Driving in Massachusetts
Texting and driving is likely the most dangerous form of distracted driving because one takes their eyes, mind and at least one hand off the wheel when texting while operating a vehicle. People also lose focus more often and for longer periods when texting than when doing something else like changing a radio station or making a call.
- Car accidents involving distracted drivers injure more than 1,153 people every day in the United States.
- One study found that almost half of high school students who can drive text or email while operating a vehicle.
- Another study reported that 69% of motorists ages 18-64 talked on a cell phone within 30 days of being asked about this behavior.
- 31% of motorists ages 18-64 also reported that they had read or sent texts while driving.
- Young people who text and drive are more likely to engage in other dangerous behaviors like drinking and driving.
Massachusetts Texting and Driving Laws
Drivers in Massachusetts are legally prohibited from texting and driving, and even texting while stopped in traffic is punishable by law. One could be fined $100-$500 for texting and driving though one could also face jail time or a suspended license when hurting someone due to texting and driving. If you were injured in an accident because of driver who was texting, you may be able to receive compensation by filing a personal injury claim in civil court. This is because motorists breach the duty of care they owe to others when engaging in negligent behavior like texting and driving.
To learn more about your options when injured by a texting motorist, contact us today.